Free accounts: The default
When you publish a project you will be able to choose whether or not to include a Duplicate and edit button.
If you choose "Allow anyone to duplicate this project and data", it will display a Duplicate and edit button on the showcase page for that project.
For business accounts, we offer three access permission options for your projects, which you can set through the Share button on the top right of your editor screen.
Only I can view
The first and most private level of access permissions is Only I can view. Your colleagues will not be able to find the project through the My Company page or by browsing your profile. They will not be able to access the visualization even if you share a link with them.
If you opt for this level of access permissions, the share icon should now display as a lock.
Anyone at your organisation can view
This level of access enables your colleagues to see your project but not to edit it.
Anyone at organisation can edit
Your colleagues not only can access your project but also edit it - this is the most open level of access permissions.
TIP: For new companies, projects are private by default. For companies that existed before we publicly launched this feature, projects are editable by default so as not to disrupt current workflows.
If I add a private visualization to an editable story, what will happen?
If you try adding a private visualization to an editable story, you will get this notification:
The visualization will be visible in the story but others won’t be able to edit it. There will be a little lock displayed in the current slide title to reflect that the underlying visualization is private.
What if I have added a non-private visualization to a story and then make this visualization private?
The visualization will not be directly accessible but it will be viewable in the story. You will get the following message:
What happens if I publish a private visualization
Once you publish a private visualization, it will be accessible by anyone via a public showcase link.
Your colleagues will still be unable to make edits to it if they try to access it through your organisation.
Business accounts: Password-protect your projects
If you have a Business account, you can also publish your projects behind a password. This is useful for sharing them with colleagues who don’t have a Flourish account or people outside of your company, like customers.
To do this, in the visualization editor click Export & publish, choose Publish to share and embed and select the password option. Your published visualization will then be safely encrypted until the correct password is entered.